Phillies MVP: May Edition

After a decent April, I–and I’m sure many other–Phillies fans thought, “hey, maybe this year won’t be terrible.”  Then May happened and I laughed at how foolish my hopes had been.

The month of May resulted in a ghastly 6-22 record with few bright spots.  The only two people that shined at all were two of the younger players on the team–Tommy Joseph and Aaron Altherr.

When I first went to write this, Tommy was going to be my pick for the month’s MVP.  He was slightly outperforming Altherr, but number 23 didn’t fall off the way Joseph did, so he gets the nod.

In the month of May, while the Phillies struggled, hitting just .230 and scoring just 99 runs in 28 games (3.53/game), Altherr was a force to be reckoned with.  He hit .300 in 28 games while knocking in 22 runs.  He had 14 extra base hits, including six long balls, coupled with a .402 on-base percentage.

This compares to a .299 average on the season with eight home runs and 28 RBI.  That means the majority his production came in the second month of the season.

Joseph similarly hit .300 in May, but only knocked in 17 and going deep once more, hitting seven home runs.  The big difference why I chose the six-foot-five outfielder instead though–he was consistent.  Joseph set a torrid pace in the middle of the month, but the last seven days, his average dropped to .200.

I didn’t catch a lot of games, but the ones I did, Altherr was strong in all facets.  He hits the ball hard, he can play defense and he’s smart.

The Phillies had the first day of June off.  We’ll see if Altherr keeps this pace up or, like the team, rockets back to Earth.

